Harwich & North Essex

The constituency is made up of small towns and villages wrapped round Colchester from Marks Tey to Harwich (the largest town) plus Mersea Island, Peldon and Dedham. Most of it is in the Tendring District Council area, but it includes parts of Colchester Borough which are looked after by the Colchester local party.


With the recent surge in membership, members are now fairly evenly distributed round the constituency but with rather larger numbers in Brightlingsea and the Manningtree area, where there are branches.


We currently have one councillor within this constituency, Gary Scott on Tendring District Council representing Alresford (returned in 2015 with 70% of the vote).

The parliamentary candidate at the next General Election will be Mike Beckett.